Sustainable Communities

The Sustainable Communities Committee is a group of local Rotarians aiming to promote and support projects and initiatives with a sustainability focus within our District and beyond. This includes projects which aim to protect or restore the local environment and ecosystems, utilize sustainable technologies, address the affects of climate change on our world or those promoting the uptake of everyday sustainable practices.

The committee wishes to raise the profile of sustainability in Rotary and to highlight the presence of existing sustainability practices in many Rotary projects, with a goal to increase the consideration of sustainability ideas in planning and direct focus to the long term sustainability required for successful international projects.

The group, with members from several local Rotary and Rotaract clubs, meets on the 3rd Thursday of the month.


Chair Pat Armstrong
Committee Claire Caulfield, John Elrington, Murray Neilson, Brendan Woods